Jenvention – Maple Walnut Chicken

This is a modified version of a recipe from the back of the Progresso PANKO bread crumbs box. Because I don’t ever have the proper ingredients to follow an exact recipe, I made a few modifications.

First gather your ingredients.

1/2 Cup Maple syrup – I used cheap Hy-Vee brand low calorie syrup because that’s what I had on hand.

4 Tbsp Mayo – again I used a lower fat variety because I’m just so nutritionally responsible. ūüėČ

3/4 tsp salt

3/4 Cup PANKO Bread Crumbs

1/2 Cup “finely” chopped Walnuts¬†– um since I used a giant rolling pin to smash mine in the bag, my chop wasn’t what you might call fine. Look I have a job, I don’t have time to worry about chopping nuts into a fine texture. My method worked well enough for me.

1 lb boneless skinless chicken breast tenders – you can use 4 breasts instead. I just like tiny pieces of meat because it makes me feel like I get more in each portion. I’m tricky.

Get yourself a rolling pin!  After a long day at work, it's way better than a food processor.

Get yourself a rolling pin! After a long day at work, it’s way better than a food processor.

In a shallow dish, mix maple syrup, mayo, and salt. ¬†Yes this sounds disgusting and guess what….it looks disgusting too. ¬†Don’t give up on me here…you have to trust.

In another shallow dish, mix the bread crumbs and walnuts.

Dip the chicken in the syrup mixture, then the crumb mixture, and place it on a greased baking sheet.  Easy peasy!

Yes, in my house shallow dish = paper plate.

Yes, in my house shallow dish = paper plate.

Spray the top of the chicken with cooking spray and put it in the oven at 400 degrees for 25 minutes, flipping once about half way through.

DISCLAIMER – I did not use an appropriate pan for this recipe and therefore my chicken didn’t get as brown and crispy as it should. ¬†I’m a rule breaker. ¬†It’s what I do. ¬†If you aren’t comfortable with my level of rebellion, then just use a regular baking sheet. ¬†It’s okay, I won’t judge you if you don’t judge me.

Deep pan is no good.  Use a cookie sheet..or suffer the soggy consequences

Deep pan is no good. Use a cookie sheet..or suffer the soggy consequences

Now you have 25 minutes to be productive.  Put your laundry away, read a book, do some yoga, or you can just exercise your brain a little and watch some Wheel of Fortune.  That just happens to be one of my favorite things to do while I cook dinner.

Can you solve the puzzle?

Can you solve the puzzle?

Once your chicken is sufficiently browned and reaches an internal temp of at least 165 degrees farenheit, take it out of the oven and serve it with your favorite side.  I chose to have mine with a fresh spinach salad topped with Feta cheese.  YUM!

And…I got so excited to try it, I almost forgot to take a picture of the final product!

Delish!

Delish!

Let me know if you try it and like it…or hate it. ¬†And…maybe you want to make your own modifications? ¬†If you do, please take pictures of what you make and share it. ¬†Sharing is fun!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Photography

Author:jenlapel

Natural Light photographer

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

