2013 – A Year of Me

I like to think I know a great deal about goal setting.  It is, after all, part of my job each day.  So I feel like I need to start this post by saying that I am fully aware that my resolutions/goals may not be specific enough, or measurable enough, or time sensitive.  That they may not fit the guidelines of  a worthwhile or proper goal.  And I also know, and have been told, that I should narrow it down to my top 1 or 2 or 3 or 10.  But, if you know me, then you know that I just don’t do anything that way.  All of the things on this list are important to me and all of the things on this list deserve to be there.  Some of them are lifelong challenges and won’t be fixed in a year, and others I can accomplish with less effort.  I like them just the way they are so judge if you want.  But I’d rather try to accomplish a list of 16 things than to have no list at all and merely just go day-to-day with no direction. To keep them from overwhelming all of you sane people though, I broke them into three categories – Body, Mind, and Soul.  You’re welcome.:)

I wonder if I will look as poised as this woman when I'm doing Yoga Barre?

I wonder if I will look as poised as this woman when I’m doing Yoga Barre?  Um….doubtful.  But I’m going to TRY to channel my inner ballerina!

Body

  1. Yoga Yoga Yoga – at least once a week, and hopefully twice.  I always feel better when I do it, so why can’t I make it a priority?  I can make eating a priority, and this is like feeding my soul, right? Hmm, maybe this belongs under soul? Eh, it applies to both I think, so I’ll leave it here.  
  2. Try a new HEALTHY recipe every month
  3. Try Zumba, Yoga Barre, Belly Dancing, Spinning and every other crazy activity at least once! Who wants to join me!?
  4. Floss Every Day – it’s harder than you would think, and “you shouldn’t neglect your gums.” (a very wise movie prostitute taught me that.)
Whole Roasted Chicken - which recipe should be next?!

Whole Roasted Chicken – which recipe should be next?!

Mind

  1. Spend Less and Save More – money is one of the top things that occupies my mind.  How do I get more?  How quickly can I spend it? – I’m going to keep doing the cash only budget I’ve been doing and see how much I can save
  2. Stop Mortgaging my Future.  I have my husband to thank for that clever little saying.  Which basically means that I’m a chronic procrastinator and need to stop putting things off until tomorrow, and the next day, and the next day, and the next…
  3. Only purchase Groupons if I can guarantee I’ll use them before they expire
  4. Say YES! But…only after I get all the details.  Stop the overcommiting! (said the girl with 16 resolutions! Ha!)

Hmm...where shall I go to put my feet up and think?

Hmm…where shall I go to put my feet up and think?

Soul

  1. Do something really BIG to help inspire kids to get active! I don’t know what this is yet, but I WILL do it this year
  2. Go somewhere really beautiful and take too many pictures to count – alone. I have this theory that sometimes when you’re feeling a little lost, it’s best to get away and spend some time with yourself.  Sort of my own mini Eat- Pray- Love.
  3. Be honest with others about my feelings – even if it’s terrifying
  4. Ask for Help – but only when I truly need it.  I will also do my best to not feel guilty when I have to ask.
  5. Give energy only to topics and people who are adding to my Life.  I have to thank my wise Uncle Anthony for this one. He said this to me once – “If people aren’t adding to my life, they aren’t in it.”  A short, but really powerful statement.
  6. Give each day a purpose, no matter how small, and be grateful that I have it

Last but not least –

Blog about it…all of it!

Happy New Year Everyone!  Here's to a Year of Me...and a Year of You!

Happy New Year Everyone! Here’s to a Year of Me…and a Year of You!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Featured, Pages, Photography

Author:jenlapel

Natural Light photographer

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “2013 – A Year of Me”

  1. Kerry
    January 9, 2013 at 9:35 PM #

    I really love this and found myself saying “me too” several times while I read it. You are always an inpiration to me.

    • January 9, 2013 at 10:10 PM #

      Thanks so much Kerry! That means a lot coming from someone who as accomplished all you have.

  2. Karri
    January 10, 2013 at 8:27 PM #

    Enjoyed reading your blog… These 2 resonated with me: 1.If people aren’t adding to my life, they aren’t in it. 2.Be honest with others about my feelings – even if it’s terrifying.

    • January 10, 2013 at 10:43 PM #

      Thank you for reading it Karri! That means a lot to me. Hope you guys are doing well.

  3. July 2, 2013 at 4:32 PM #

    I love your blog, Jen. You always inspire me to be and live better!

Leave a Reply

