Jenventions

Sometimes when I’m cooking dinner I like to take liberties with the recipes I’m using and make substitutions or go completely “off script” and create my own recipe. Shortly after my husband and I moved into together he gave these new recipes their own name – Jenventions. Sometimes they work out…and others, well, they don’t. I’m pretty excited that this one did! So here is the link to the original recipe I had planned to make before realizing that I didn’t have all the ingredients in my cupboard.
http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/spicy-chicken-cakes-with-horseradish-aioli-10000001206203/

And here is what I put together instead

Italian Chicken Cakes w/ Grape Tomato & Garlic

Cakes:
1/4 Cup Wheat Panko Break Crumbs
1 pound ground Chicken
3 TBS of Mrs. Dash Italian Seasoning
3 tablespoons plain low-fat Greek Yogurt
1/4 Cup Grated Parmesan Cheese
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 Cup Liquid Egg Whites
2 teaspoons extra virgin olive oil

Tomato/Garlic Tasty Topping
1/2 pint of cherry or grape tomatoes, rinsed and dried
1 tsp extra virgin olive oil
1 tsp minced garlic

So raw ground meat is not really appealing in a picture, but it gets better.

Combine all ingredients for the patty, except the EVOO at one time. Be careful not to over mix, otherwise you’ll end up with hard patties. Get in there with your hands…you’ll want to anyway so just do it from the start.    Form into 8 individual patties.

Heat oil in a skillet over medium heat. Mine was non-stick, Rachael Ray brand. Love her! But any old skillet will do. Anyway add the patties and cook for 6-7 minutes on each side or until pretty golden brown.

Sweating in the pot!

While patties are cooking, toss the olive oil, tomatoes, and garlic in a small sauce pan and cover. Now leave them alone…let them sweat. 🙂 (Another trick I learned from Rach. I call her Rach…we’re tight like that.)

Most of the tomatoes will burst in 6-10 minutes. Then just use a spoon or a handy little tool like the one in the picture to just gently mash them all together and pop any that haven’t burst yet.

No idea what that utensil is called, but if you got it..use it

Top 2 patties, with a little of the tomato mixture, add a little side salad and enjoy!

Don’t judge my photo – took it with my phone. Trust me it’s delish

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Featured, Food, Food Tips, Pages, Photography

Author:jenlapel

Natural Light photographer

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

