At The Table With a Graphic Design Student

Twenty year old Elizabeth Culjat is an anything but a typical college Junior.   I have to admit that as my youngest interview yet, I had my own ideas about how she might answer each of my questions. I was pleasantly surprised as soon as we started talking.  She was polite, smart, and seemed to have a very mature perspective on things.  Of course our five little categories aren’t exactly earth shattering topics, but still I was  impressed with her answers.  The oldest of 3 kids (Elizabeth has two younger brothers) and daughter to entrepeneurs, this graphic design student is going places.  Currently attending Iowa State University, Elizabeth aspires to work for a prestigious firm in Minneapolis that serves what she refers to as “dream clients.”

-These are Elizabeth’s Perspectives on…

Fashion

I think individuality is a cool thing.  Because a lot of people go with trends,  but I kind of don’t really follow trends.  I like just kind of do what I like or what I think is a cute look.  I like quirky outfits I guess, but I also like really classic looks too.  Like a nice staple piece or staple colors – I have a lot of those in my wardrobe.  I really like Audrey Hepburn, and she’s probably a big ‘go to’  for a lot of people though.  I also admire Mary Kate & Ashley Olsen’s style.  They have that grungy style I’ve always kind of loved.

Relationships

I don’t really have a lot of people I keep in contact from my high school, except my 3 or 4 closest friends.  Just because when I went to college I wanted to make a whole new circle of friends.  A lot of girls went to the same school and now they hang out with the same people they hung out with in high school.  But that’s not really my thing.  I’ve learned to kind of let go of friendships too.  The people who want to be in your life will make an effort to be there.  That’s one big thing I’ve learned.

Health & Fitness

Well I’m more conscious about it now than I was when I was in high school.  I mean in high school I worked out every day because I was on the dance team and I did sports and things like that.  But with college and my major being graphic design it’s really intensive.  And so most of the time I’m too tired to go to the gym, because I’ve been up since four in the morning.  But then this summer I’ve been on a schedule where I get up and work out Monday, Wednesday,  Friday…just in the morning.  I hate working out at night.  I’m just too tired to do it.  So I just get up and do it in the morning and that way it’s done.  And I actually feel a lot better when I do it.   So I think I’m gonna try to continue that through school, but it’s harder with like a busier schedule obviously.

Foodwise I’m more health conscious I guess. Cheap stuff always gets me though, because I’m like “Oh I can go to McDonald’s and get a Happy Meal for $3 or Iced Coffees at six in the morning because I need one.  That stuff  gets me. It’s easier when there’s not a lot going on, but when you get busier it’s harder.

Botox vs. Growing Old Gracefully

Absolutely no Botox.  I do not want needles in my body.  I feel like it’s a natural thing for me to get wrinkles or whatever.  I feel like the people that are old but don’t look old are actually weirder than the people who are old and look really old.  Like if you’re 63 and you look  like your 28, it’s creepy.  I would say age gracefully.

Balance

I make lots of “to do” lists.  I make a to do list probably every day.  And it helps me.  My mom always tells me to take things day by day. Because I’m one of those people that gets super overwhelmed really easily if I have a lot on my plate.  And I’ve found if you section it out and write it down, and you see a physical list in front of you.  Then when you check it off.  and you can see it, it makes things easier.  So you can see what you’re doing and what you’re accomplishing. Keeping myself sane sometimes I just take a minute.  You can’t just go go go as much as you want to.  This year I had to kind of pick and choose what I was going to put most of my effort into.  Because as much as you want to, you can’t put 150% into everything you’re doing.  So, whatever I’m more passionate about at the time gets more attention.

Thank you for sitting down At The Table with me, Elizabeth.  I enjoyed your company, conversation, and hearing how you view the world.  Best of luck to you in your bright and successful future!

jen

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: At The Table, Featured, Pages, Photography

Author:jenlapel

Natural Light photographer

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “At The Table With a Graphic Design Student”

  1. Kerry
    September 28, 2012 at 6:30 AM #

    This was really good and I too was surprised by her responses.

Leave a Reply

