Moms With Cameras Workshop

Just a little over 2 years ago I bought my first DSLR.  At the time, I just wanted to take great photos of the vacations my husband and I were taking.  I didn’t necessarily expect it to turn into a business for me.  What I did think was that I could just read the manual and immediately be able to take AMAZING photos.  Ha!  Boy was I wrong.  It’s been quite a frustrating but rewarding journey so far, and it isn’t over.

Along the way I’ve found some really useful resources to help me learn and others that were not so useful.  Some concepts were difficult to grasp.  However, when the “lightbulb” would finally come on in my head I would think to myself, “Well geesh, why didn’t they just say that to begin with?!”  I was excited and couldn’t wait to teach other people whatever it was I had just learned.  So I have started to search for people I can teach what I’ve learned in my way…although not overly technical, it is my way.  And I kind of like that.  🙂

So this past Saturday I taught a workshop for moms (and aunts and grandmas and anybody else that would show up).  Moms who wanted to learn to use their cameras better, just the way I had wanted to learn – from someone who would talk to them like humans.  And overall, I believe it was a success.  Now I’m already planning my next workshop – Point and Shoot Basics.  And based on the feedback I recieved on Saturday I’m going to design a whole new workshop series, with 3 or 4 different sessions that really focus on DSLRs.  I can’t wait to get started!

Oh, and I must thank my two models.  They were amazing and funny and great sports.  Thanks girls!!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Pages, Photography

Author:jenlapel

Natural Light photographer

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Moms With Cameras Workshop”

  1. July 25, 2012 at 8:02 PM #

    Thanks Jenny, for running such a great workshop. I didn’t expect it to be as organized as it was, and I love the workbook that I could take notes in and take home with me to reference for later. I also loved all the advice. It really was the perfect mix of instruction, Q&A tailored to the audience, and time to practice what we were learning as we went. I would definitely show up to another one of your classes. Thanks so much!!

  2. Andrea Kruger
    August 7, 2012 at 10:43 AM #

    As a Mom and just getting my camera I was overwhelmed figuring out all the ins and outs of it. This class was PERFECT for the “starter Mom with camera” amateur. I would definitely recommend this class to everyone and cant wait for the follow up class. Thanks Jen

Leave a Reply

